Our network


Extended Highlights: Sun Prairie Defeats Madison Memorial 51-27


Sun Prairie defeated Madison Memorial 51-27 in high school football Friday night.

Sun Prairie extended their two touchdown lead early in the third quarter when Sun Prairie's Lukas Otto nailed a 33-yard field goal to put the Cardinals up 31 to 14.

But Memorial doesn't give in. Spartans' quarterback Joe Ferguson keeps to score on the 1-yard plunge. Memorial trailed 31-21.

Then it was Sun Prairie's turn to strike back. On the next play from scrimmage following the Memorial kick, Donte Starlin-Merriam scored on a 72-yard run to put Sun Prairie up 38 to 21.

Starlin-Merriam had 258 yards rushing on the night.

Jazz Orchestra To Perform Concert In Honor Of Jeff Peronto

Jazz Orchestra To Perform Concert In Honor Of Jeff Peronto

The Jeff Peronto Jazz Orchestra, a Madison-based community jazz band, will be holding a special concert to honor the group's namesake, Jeff Peronto.

The concert will be held at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 18 at the Sun Prairie High School Auditorium in Sun Prairie.

Peronto, 62, has been a staple in the community Jazz and concert band scene for 35 years.

As an instructor with Madison College, he influenced and provided joy to hundreds of area amateur and professional musicians. As part of this, he facilitated the involvement of many legendary groups performing at Madison College. such as the big bands of Buddy Rich, Maynard Ferguson and Woody Herman.   

Sun Prairie Teacher Named Wisconsin Elementary Teacher of the Year

Sun Prairie Teacher Named Wisconsin Elementary Teacher of the Year

Westside Elementary School is beaming with pride as first grade teacher Marsha Herman was named Wisconsin’s Elementary Teacher of the Year.

The announcement was made on Tuesday by State Superintendent Tony Evers at a special all-school assembly at Westside Elementary.

The presentation of the award was a surprise for Herman as well as Westside students and staff who were told the assembly would focus on the school’s Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports program as they started the new school year.

"It is great to see Marsha’s hard work and experience recognized with an award of this magnitude," said Westside Elementary Principal Rick Mueller in a news release. "Marsha is an excellent example of the highly qualified teachers and staff at Westside and throughout the Sun Prairie Area School District who go above and beyond for students every day."

Powers Appointed Interim City Administrator

Powers Appointed Interim City Administrator

The Sun Prairie City Council voted unanimously Tuesday night to appoint Margaret Powers as Interim City Administrator.

Powers previously worked for the City of Sun Prairie from 1994-2007, serving as Finance Director and as Assistant City Administrator. 

Powers currently lives in Sun Prairie with her husband Tim and their tjree children.

Margaret will be replacing Patrick Cannon, who after 22 years of service with the city, retired last Monday.

"We thank Mr. Cannon for his dedicated service to our city and wish him well in his future endeavors," said Mayor John Murray in a news release.

More information about the City of Sun Prairie is available at www.cityofsunprairie.com.

Sun Prairie Student Dies While Working Out At High School

Sun Prairie Student Dies While Working Out At High School

A Sun Prairie ninth-grader died while working out at Sun Prairie High School on Thursday afternoon, according to a letter sent to faculty and parents from Cardinal Heights Middle School Principal Ryan Ruggles.

Jay Haraldson,16, was taken to St. Mary's Hospital, but efforts to revive him were unsuccessful, Ruggles said in the letter.

Nancy Harms, Haraldson's summer swimming coach, said he had taken part in swimming practice in the morning and was doing fine afterwards.

"The news spread rapidly yesterday," Harms said. "He collapsed when he was working out at the high school on the treadmill. The adults that were there did everything they could. They started CPR and the EMS got there very quickly."

Jay's father Joel and mother Sharon, who is a teacher at Patrick Marsh Middle School, watched their son endure some of life's challenges.

Home Construction Class Puts Finishing Touches On New Home

Home Construction Class Puts Finishing Touches On New Home

The students in this year's home construction class at Sun Prairie High School will host an open house for the home that is nearly built. The open house will be on Tuesday, June 7 from 4 to 6 p.m. 

The house has been sold, but there are a few projects that the new owners would like done, so the house won't be completely finished in time for the open house, but everyone is still invited.

The home is located at 1387 Heritage Lane in Sun Prairie.


  • Nick Hendricks
  • Cody Huemmer
  • Ben Kress
  • Tyler Patterson
  • Keith Schaub
  • Michael Schraufnagel
  • Brad Susdorf
  • Michael Wagner


  • Tommy Sanders

Sun Prairie Teacher A Finalist For National Honor

Sun Prairie Teacher A Finalist For National Honor

Thirty-four-year teaching veteran Tom Bindl is a finalist for the National Education Association Foundation's Improvement of Education Award for Teaching Excellence. A national award, only six teachers in  the country receive it each year.

The purpose of the awards are to recognize, reward and promote teaching excellence. 

Candidates are judged by their professional practice, advocacy for the profession, community engagement,  leadership in professional development and attention to diversity.

"Educators such as Tom are part of what makes Wisconsin's public school system so strong," said Mary Bell, president of WEAC and a teacher from Wisconsin Rapids. "His students and community are fortunate to have his expertise in the classroom, and we are happy that he will be recognized."

Bindl is a fourth grade teacher at Royal Oaks Elementary. He will travel to Washington, D.C. for the Salute to Excellence in Education Event for the award.